Thursday, January 04, 2007

Nine Temples around the Rattanakosin Island, Thailand

23 December 2006-7 January 2007 Venue: The Rattanakosin Island, Bangkok,

Nine Temples around the Rattanakosin Island, Thailand Travel

During the New Year celebration, it is popular among Thais to visit the temples, especially to pay homage to nine sacred temples around the Rattanakosin Island within a day. We believe that it will bring prosperity to our lives, so, this would be a good start for your new year. Furthermore, as a tourist, you can appreciate the beauty of each temple, which is a part of our cultural heritage. In this special occasion, the Tourism Authority of Thailand Travel arranges a merit-making activity for you to pay homage to all nine temples and collect all stamps from those to get a souvenir. The nine sacred temples are as the following:

1.Wat Kanlayanamit

was built by the command of King Rama III. It is famous for its Chinese influenced architecture.Location: Wat Kanlayanamit sub-district, Thon Buri district

2.Chana Songkhram Temple

(The Temple of War Victory) was constructed in the Ayutthaya period Location: Chakkraphong Road, Banglamphu sub-district

3.Wat Phra Chetupon or Wat Pho

Wat Pho(The Temple of the Reclining Buddha) is the oldest and biggest temple with the largest number of pagodas in the city. It is also famous for its huge Reclining Buddha, 46 m long and 15 m high.Location: Behind the Grand Palace, near Tha Tien Pier

4.Wat Phra Kaeo

Wat Phra Kaeo(The Temple of the Emerald Buddha) The famous Emerald Buddha is enshrined here. The temple was established in the Grand Palace in King Rama I’s reign. It is the holiest of all temples in Thailand.Location: Inside the Grand Palace

5.Wat Rakhang Khositaram

One of the most revered monks in Thailand Somdej Phraphutthachan To was abbot here. He is well known for his holy Chinabanchon verse. Location: On the west bank of the Chao Phraya River, obliquely opposite Tha Chang Pier

6.Wat Suthat

Wat Suthatwas started during King Rama I’s reign and finished in King Rama III’s reign Location: Bamrung Muang Road

7.Wat Arun

(Temple of Dawn) was first established in the Ayutthaya period (sometime between 1350-1767). It is attractive in it striking prangs (a kind of pagodas) which are decorated with millions of pieces of Chinese porcelain.Location: Near the Royal Thai Navy headquarters, Arun-amarin Road, Bangkokyai district

8.Wat Bawonniwet

Wat Bawonniwet was ordered to construct by King Rama III. King Mongkut (Rama IV) was abbot and founded the Dhammayut Sect of Buddhism here. Location: Phra Sumen Road

9.Wat Saket

Wat Saket and the Golden Mount was built before the establishment of Bangkok as the capital of Thailand by the order of King Rama I.Location: Chakkaphatdi Phong Road

delicious furl Yahoo My Web Google Bookmark Blinklist Blogmark Simpy Shadow Netvouz Reddit